Thayer pulls away in third quarter to win 11th consecutive district title

The Thayer Bobcats take on the Liberty Eagles in the Class 3 District 10 Championship held on Saturday, February 24, 2024, at Houston High School

For the 11th consecutive season, and 26th time in program history, the Thayer Bobcats are district champions.

Thayer pulled away from conference rival Liberty in the third quarter to win the Class 3 District 10 championship 50-36.

Thayer carried an 11-9 lead after one quarter and 18-15 advantage at the half. In the third quarter, Thayer outscored Liberty 15-5 to put the game out of reach.


Devin Harrington was key for Thayer in that decisive third quarter by scoring nine of his 20 points. He went five-for-six from the free throw line. Rowan Spencer also scored in double figures for Thayer with 14 points.

The loss marked the end of the record-setting career of Liberty’s Terrell Gaines. The all-time leading scorer in Liberty history finished with 22 points on Saturday.

Thayer, the No. 3 ranked team in Class 3, will host Fatima, the No. 7 ranked team in Class 3, in the sectional round on Tuesday.

Liberty – 9-6-5-16 — 36
Thayer – 11-7-15-17 — 50

L: Terrell Gaines 22, Gavin Reese 5, Cole Matthews 3, Adrein Pendergraft 2, Carter Pruett 2, Brody Rutledge 2
T: Devin Harrington 20, Rowan Spencer 14, Aidan Burns 7, Easton Pitts 5, Brandon Prince 2, Mark Spencer 2

Pictures: Thayer 50, Liberty 36

Related Posts