Posted: Wednesday, 12 March 2014 4:45PM

Bears Back in Postseason with Home Game in CIT

SPRINGFIELD – has announced that Missouri State University has been selected as a host site for the opening round of the CIT men’s basketball postseason tournament on Wednesday, March 19.
The Bears (20-12) will host Murray State (18-11) at 7:05 p.m., in the first round of the 32-team event.  Complete pairings for the CIT will be available after Sunday’s NCAA and NIT selections are complete.
“This is a great opportunity for our team to play in the postseason and for our fans to support the Bears against a formidable team,” said Missouri State Director of Athletics Kyle Moats. “The last time we were in the CIT, it really gave our program a shot in the arm headed into the next season, which culminated in our first-ever Valley title.”
MSU won the second annual CIT event in 2010 with victories over Middle Tennessee, Louisiana Tech, Creighton and Pacific to complete a 24-12 season. With 8 lettermen back the following season, the Bears finished with a 26-9 ledger and claimed the 2011 MVC regular-season title.
“We’re very excited to be playing in the postseason and to be playing a quality program,” said MSU head coach Paul Lusk. “Murray State has a great basketball tradition and will be a good opponent.”
Tickets will go on sale Thursday (March 13) at 10 a.m., at the MSU Athletics Box Office in JQH Arena, by phone at (417) 836-7678 or on-line at Tickets are $10 for all lower-level seats, $5 for upper-level and bleacher seats, and free for all Missouri State students with a valid BearPass ID. Loge and courtside tickets are available for purchase by phone or in person at JQH for just $20.
All current Bears’ season-ticket holders will have until 5 p.m. on Monday, March 17 to purchase their CIT tickets before their seats are released for sale to the general public. 
The CIT begins with first-round games on campus sites March 18-19 and continues with second-round games March 22-23. The quarterfinals (March 25-26), semifinals (March 28-29) and finals (April 1) are also played on campus sites.  In an effort to minimize travel and missed class time, the CIT uses a format that determines pairings after each round is complete.
CIT History
Year Champion Runner-Up
2009 Old Dominion Bradley
2010 Missouri State Pacific
2011 Santa Clara Iona
2012 Mercer Utah State
2013 East Carolina Weber State

Filed Under :  
Topics : Sports
People : Paul Lusk
Photo Galleries

Pictures: Countdown to Kickoff photos

We counted down the #DaysTilKickoff from all the way back in early July and the day has come.  Here's a look at each day's countdown.

Pictures: Top 50 Volleyball Jamboree Photos

Catch the best photos from the area's volleyball jamboree

Pictures: Sparta Volleyball Jamboree

Sparta hosted Billings, Buffalo, and Forsyth on Tuesday night.
O-Zone Opinion
Mohawk Chronicles: COC Large football conference preview
In terms of talent, there is no conference better than the COC-Large; the Class of 2014 will have no less than a half dozen D-1 players alone. While the conference isn't as deep as some others, there will be no shortage of storylines in 2014, starting...
Read More
14 for '14: Top storylines to watch
Here are 14 of the top storylines we'll be watching for the 2014 fall sports season. What are you looking forward to? 14 for '14: Breakout football players - CLICK HERE 14 for '14: Defensive players to watch - CLICK HERE 14 for '14:...
Read More
Mohawk Chronicles: Mid-Lakes football conference preview
Four of the conference's seven teams were ranked at some point in 2013. The Mid-Lakes will again be top loaded in 2014, with Strafford, Skyline, and Marionville all in the conversation to compete for state championships. But, the biggest question in MLC...
Read More
Most Viewed