Posted: Sunday, 10 February 2013 12:33AM

Neosho wrestling rolls; Willard gets first individual district title

Neosho continued its roll on Saturday at the Class 3, District 3 tournament in Willard. The Wildcats racked up 300 points and qualified wrestlers in 13 of the 14 weight classes.

None of this came as a surprise as Neosho is ranked No. 2 in Class 3.

What did come as a bit of a surprise was a Neosho championship victory at 220 pounds.


Christian Lopez took the mat against McDonald County’s Jordan Moffett in a battle of familiar foes.

"In youth wrestling it has always been a tough match for me and him. In high school it has always been a tough match as well," Lopez said. "I beat him (Moffett) last year at districts. He beat me three times this year. I wanted to go out and finish districts with a first place."

To accomplish his goal, Lopez would have to do what only one other wrestler this year had done: beat Moffett. The McDonald County senior toted a 45-1 record into the bout.

Lopez and Moffett battled closely throughout without much separation until Neosho’s 220-pounder pulled out a takedown as time expired in the second period.

"That boosted my confidence 100 percent. I was ready to go back out there for more," Lopez said.

The Neosho senior continued to try and attack through the third period and not just rest on his lead.


"I wasn't thinking of just hanging on. I wanted to get more and more, but he is really good on defense," said. "He is just a good athlete. He is hard to take shots on."

Lopez would finish out the victory 3-1 to take his first district title.

Neosho grabbed seven titles in addition to Lopez’s with Kyler Rea (106), River Buttram (120), Nate Rodriguez (132), Kyle Hostetter (145), Sam Williams (152), Jacob Brock (182) and Aaron Clardy (285) all winning titles.

One that got away from Neosho was at 126 pounds as Camdenton’s Anthony Franicevich needed sudden death overtime to beat Dakota McGarrah.

Franicevich thought he had the match won in the first overtime period as the referees awarded him two points and the title, but the call was reversed after several minutes of debate.

"In my head I just (thought) I have to keep my head and keep going after it and keep the grind going," Franicevich said.

He would eventually grind to the victory and his third state berth in as many tries, but his first district title.
"It is an accomplishment. This whole year (I have) been working hard in the weight room and wrestling room and all the hours of practice in the offseason," Franicevich said. "It feels good."

Willard grabbed one title on the day, which doubled as its first ever district title for a freshman in Hunter Yeargan storming through the tournament for the 170 pound title.


He faced a familiar face in Webb City’s Alex Lane in the finals. The two wrestled in the COC tournament just two weeks ago.

"I wrestled him two weeks ago at COC and beat him with about 10 seconds left," Yeargan said. "I knew I was going to have to shoot this time and take him down multiple times and get a comfortable lead to get the win."

Yeargan did just that as he had the match sealed up well before the final buzzer in a 7-2 win.

All the qualifiers will now travel to Columbia for the State Wrestling Tournament starting on Thursday.

Class 3, District 3 Results and Qualifiers (all listed wrestlers below qualified for State):

1st Place Match - Kyler Rea (Neosho) 42-4 won by pin over Dakota Jones (Carthage ) 31-15 (Pin 1:30)
3rd Place Match - Dillon Briscoe (Camdenton ) 37-11 won by decision over Justin Rogers (Republic ) 26-15 (Dec 3-2)

1st Place Match - Dylan Burns (Lebanon ) 39-5 won by decision over Johnathan Williams (Neosho) 36-15 (Dec 13-8)
3rd Place Match - Carter Daniels (Rolla ) 30-15 won by decision over Brandon O`Connell (Republic ) 25-14 (Dec 4-2)

1st Place Match - River Buttram (Neosho) 37-6 won by major decision over Gage Gartner (Carthage ) 33-9 (Maj 11-3)
3rd Place Match - Tanner (Willis) Edgen (Republic ) 36-15 won by decision over Trevor Casady (Camdenton ) 23-22 (Dec 4-2)

1st Place Match - Anthony Franicevich (Camdenton ) 37-5 won in sudden victory - 3 over Dakota McGarrah (Neosho) 35-12 (SV-3 4-3)
3rd Place Match - River Maggard (Carthage ) 20-11 won by decision over Trevor Young (McDonald County ) 28-15 (Dec 5-4)

1st Place Match - Nate Rodriguez (Neosho) 51-1 won by major decision over Seth Logan (Carthage ) 37-3 (Maj 9-1)
3rd Place Match - Kaleb Crook (Willard) 40-11 won by pin over Josh Kinser (McDonald County ) 28-10 (Pin 4:59)

1st Place Match - Trevor Feagans (Carthage ) 46-1 won by major decision over Cody Sandridge (Republic ) 40-6 (Maj 10-2)
3rd Place Match - Jason Box (Neosho) 33-19 won by decision over Connar Loderhose (Willard) 40-9 (Dec 3-0)

1st Place Match - Kyle Hostetter (Neosho) 37-14 won by decision over Jacob Dalton (McDonald County ) 31-13 (Dec 6-1)
3rd Place Match - Tommy Bradshaw (Carthage ) 31-11 won by decision over Tyler Bates (Lebanon ) 27-13 (Dec 8-6)

1st Place Match - Sam Williams (Neosho) 20-3 won in sudden victory - 1 over Nick Koon (Carl Junction ) 40-4 (SV-1 3-1)
3rd Place Match - Kyle Campbell (Republic ) 39-6 won by decision over Thomas Massengale (Willard) 35-16 (Dec 7-1)

1st Place Match - Brayden Goff (Webb City ) 25-2 won by pin over Chance Branstetter (Neosho) 33-18 (Pin 1:50)
3rd Place Match - Kerik Crouse (Republic ) 42-4 won by decision over Jesse Kerr (Hillcrest ) 33-15 (Dec 10-4)

1st Place Match - Hunter Yeargan (Willard) 36-2 won by decision over Alex Lane (Webb City ) 35-12 (Dec 7-2)
3rd Place Match - Nick Brown (Lebanon ) 34-13 won by decision over Skyler Bloomer (Carthage ) 30-16 (Dec 5-0)

1st Place Match - Jacob Brock (Neosho) 49-3 won by major decision over Austin Beushausen (Lebanon ) 38-9 (Maj 13-0)
3rd Place Match - Darien Abston (Rolla ) 27-8 won by major decision over Duane Faller (Willard) 28-10 (Maj 17-6)

1st Place Match - Micah Ragsdale (Marshfield ) 42-6 won by pin over Ben Elledge (Neosho) 32-20 (Pin 1:51)
3rd Place Match - Chandler Klein (Glendale ) 29-5 won in sudden victory - 3 over Tritton Barnes (Branson) 26-13 (SV-3 2-1)

1st Place Match - Christian Lopez (Neosho) 47-5 won by decision over Jordan Moffett (McDonald County ) 42-1 (Dec 3-1)
3rd Place Match - Isaiah Hills (Camdenton ) 30-14 won by decision over Shawn Dalangin (Lebanon ) 35-12 (Dec 3-2)

1st Place Match - Aaron Clardy (Neosho) 42-9 won by decision over Blaine Perry (Carthage ) 31-12 (Dec 6-2)
3rd Place Match - Tony Carranco (Webb City ) 30-10 won by decision over Thomas Ceja (Rolla ) 27-12 (Dec 10-3)

Photo Galleries

Pictures: Pearson City Championship

Six Springfield schools competed at Millwood on Thursday.

Pictures: Ava 9, Mt. Grove 8

Ava won the battle of SCA unbeatens with a walk-off sac fly.

Pictures: Southwest 10, Purdy 8

Southwest claims the Ozark 7 championship.
O-Zone Opinion
10 improved and surprise spring sports teams
In honor of giving spring its fair due, we take time out like we did in basketball season to highlight the spring's most improved/surprise/overachieving/under-the-radar/whatever-you-wanna-call-it teams. As a general rule, this list won't include...
Read More
Mohawk Chronicles: Breaking down the new boys basketball districts
It's that time again… Every two years MSHSAA reshuffles classes and districts, unintentionally and yet effectively changing the landscape of the sport and this spring was no different. Here are the changes you will want to note for the boys...
Read More
Making sense of the new girls basketball districts
Who do you have going all the way in your bracket? Your 2014-15 high school district basketball bracket, that is. Last weekend, MSHSAA released classification and district assignments for the next two school years. We saw notable changes in most...
Read More
Most Viewed