2017-18 O-Zone Athletes of the Year

The 2017-18 athletic year is in the books which means it is time for the O-Zone to name its overall Male and Female Athletes of the Year as well as each individual sport’s athlete of the year. All schools in Southwest Missouri were eligible. The O-Zone Staff factored in stats, team success and opposing coach comments in the decision-making process.

See all of the winners below and click on each athlete’s name to learn more about them.

MALE ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Arkell Smith, Carthage
FEMALE ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Hayley Frank, Strafford


Football – Cooper Lucas, Lamar, Senior
Volleyball – Chloe Rear, Strafford, Senior
Boys’ Soccer – Dylan Brown, Republic, Senior
Fall Softball – Izzy Erickson, Reeds Spring, Sophomore
Boys’ XC – Ryan Riddle, Webb City, Senior
Girls’ XC – Kelie Henderson, Bolivar, Senior
Girls’ Tennis – Anna Rader, Catholic, Senior
Girls’ Golf – Amber Wilson, Camdenton, Senior
Boys’ Swimming – Daniel Brinck, Nixa, Senior


Boys’ Basketball – Monty Johal, Glendale, Senior
Girls’ Basketball – Hayley Frank, Strafford, Junior
Girls’ Swimming – Molly Moore, Summit Prep, Senior
Wrestling – Sean Sax, Waynesville, Senior


Baseball – Wyatt Sparks, Aurora
Boys’ Tennis – Garret Lewis, Joplin
Boys’ Golf – Dawson Meek, Glendale
Boys’ Track – Ryan Riddle, Webb City
Girls’ Track – Kylie Meier, Camdenton
Girls’ Soccer – Jadyn Easley, Ozark
Spring Softball – Zoey Mullings, Strafford